Redcoat Review

How To Find Books To Get You Through Quarantined Summer

By Sam Turgeon

Redcoat Review Writer

Posted on June 22, 2020

Covid-19 has been causing chaos in nearly all aspects of everyday life, and some social distancing restrictions are carrying over into the summer. A great way to spend the copious amount of free time that we’ll have this summer is by reading, but checking out books from the library is a bit different now that quarantine is in full swing.

One method of obtaining entertainment for the summer is through the use of Berlin Peck Library’s downloadable online resources. eBooks, audiobooks, movies, documentaries, and magazines are all available for download with a public library card. These resources can be found at the Berlin Peck website under the borrowing tab. Several different services are used for the downloadable materials, most of which can be used through an app on a cell phone. A description of each of these services is provided on the Peck Library website. Peck has also recently begun its first phase of reopening and is offering curbside pickup of materials. Patrons may call and place holds on specific items, and the library will contact them to arrange a pickup time when the item is available.

In addition to the resources provided by Peck library, the Berlin High School library is also offering books during quarantine. A page on the BHS Library website, under the sub-header “Borrowing Books During The Closure,” details how to receive a book. This page gives information on how to obtain books from a plethora of different sources. These sources range all the way from physical books from the BHS library to eBooks from various websites. The page provides any necessary passwords, and instructions on how to use each service.

Between all of the different resources provided by both the Peck and the BHS libraries, one would be hard pressed to run out of reading materials for this summer!

Redcoat review:

the perfect OPPORTUNITY

By Nick Spinali

Lead Redcoat Review Writer

Posted June 3, 2020

Are you looking for a way to get involved in a club that will help you to build character or establish new connections and friendships? Maybe you are heading into your junior or senior year and are looking for activities that will help you build on your resume. Or maybe you are an underclassman who is looking for a way to help contribute to the BHS community and establish yourself as an extracurricular and social leader. My name is Nick Spinali, and I am here to show you why joining the Redcoat Review may be the perfect opportunity for you.

At the Redcoat Review, there are a number of ways that you can contribute to the process of developing a story. One of those ways is by becoming a writer. As a Redcoat Review writer myself, I believe that it is safe to say that writing is one of the best ways to engage in collaborative work in this club. Although it starts with a story idea, writers have the opportunity to work with other writers and editors in order to achieve the best article possible. If you don’t think that your writing skills are quite strong enough, no problem! At the Redcoat Review, writers of all levels are encouraged to join, and a number of peers would be happy to help and give tips on how to enhance your writing. And no matter what your writing interests may be, there is always a place for your skills in the Redcoat Review; past stories have ranged from sports and school clubs to exclusive articles that have focused on new teachers and politics.

If you aren’t interested in writing but still want to contribute to the writing process, you should consider becoming an editor for the Redcoat Review. As an editor, it is your job to read the staff’s articles and to leave constructive criticism on how the article can be better written. Oftentimes, editors will work collaboratively with writers in order to develop the best story possible. Together, writers and editors work as a team to find grammatical and spelling mistakes while also suggesting ways to relay the most newsworthy information and make it more engaging. For example, in an article centered on sports, it is important that an editor confirms statistics and player averages while also ensuring that an audience can relate to the article. Overall, the collaboration and ability to work with others cannot be understated for an editor position.

You may be an art fanatic or are looking for ways to display your creative ability. In that case, becoming a photographer for the Redcoat Review is a great way to display your artistic abilities. As a photographer, it is your job to capture important story moments in order to help readers of the Redcoat Review visualize said story. This is especially important for sporting events, club activities, and music and theater, but can apply to essentially any story. Much like an editor, photographers work collaboratively with writers in order to determine the appropriate photograph necessary for a given article. Many times, story ideas can derive from the work of a photographer and can even strengthen the audience’s engagement with an article. You don’t even need to be a photographer to show your artistic ability as drawings and paintings are also encouraged and can gain wider recognition when displayed in a place like a Redcoat Review issue!

Next year will be my third and final year as a member of the Redcoat Review staff. After finishing my freshman year, I had been looking for ways that would help me to build my resume and to get more involved in the activities that take place at Berlin High School. When I had initially heard the suggestion of getting involved with the school newspaper, I was hesitant to join. I did not realize the opportunity that I was given. I did not think that I was a suitable writer, and I believed that my photography and editing skills were lackluster, at best. However, after much thought, I decided that I should take a chance.

Since then, I have been able to grow tremendously as a writer with the help of my peers and assistance from the staff advisors, Mrs. Glass and Mrs. Rice. My ability to critique others and collaborate in a cooperative environment has become enhanced tremendously, and I now believe that I am not only a better journalist, but a better colleague as a result. In other words, joining the Redcoat Review has provided me with the opportunity to grow as a student and a peer and has only helped me on my journey towards college. I have gained skills that I would not have been able to acquire without joining the newspaper staff and have made many valuable connections along the way. If you are like me and you are looking for ways to establish a presence in the Berlin High School community, joining the Redcoat Review is an option that you should definitely consider.

If you are interested in joining, contact Mrs. Glass or Mrs. Rice at their Berlin Public Schools email addresses:

cglass@berlinschools.org

rrice@berlinschools.org

Return of Professional Sports

By Matt Tierney

Redcoat Review Writer

Posted June 9, 2020

Flashback to the middle of March and the nation was prepping for an unknown enemy in the form of a highly contagious virus. Amidst this prep came what was described at the time as an “indefinite” suspension of the NBA, NHL, and MLB seasons. Other establishments such as the PGA Tour and Nascar all underwent the same hiatus.

Jump ahead to today, with the entire country beginning some form of reopening, leaving sports fans with budding optimism that their respective seasons will soon be back. Unfortunately it isn't as simple as snapping a finger and getting all the pros back out on the field.

Major League Baseball finds themselves at the forefront of controversy amongst owners and the Players Association to begin the season. MLB debated with different proposals to begin play since the suspension of Spring Training back in the middle of March. Initially, there were rumors of the season taking place in a confined Arizona bubble across minor league complexes, but that ultimately fell through due to a reluctance from the players to be away from home that long. The owners then came out with a highly controversial 50/50 revenue split between them and the players in addition to more salary cuts from the players.

This didn’t settle well as MLB stars such as Blake Snell and Bryce Harper clearly voiced their opinions to this proposal. MLB once again countered but instead of the revenue split, they proposed that they would take the highest pay cuts from those with the highest contract, and then lesser from those with a smaller one. Once again that proposal fell through and leads us to where we are now.

The players want to have their salaries prorated, which means to be paid for the amount of games they play. For example, they would not earn their full salary but rather would earn what their salary would be worth for the amount of games they play. So, they proposed this prorated salary plan while compromising with playing up to 114 games in their regular ballparks to make up for lost revenue of fans in the stands. The plan itself was declined but the rumor now is that the owners will eventually settle for some middle ground within the week, possibly just asking to play less games. It will be interesting to see how it plays out, but out of all the major sports, this is the most uncertain.

The NBA has things running very smoothly right now, with a vote on a return to play expected to be approved by the NBA Board of Governors within the coming days. The plan includes bringing twenty-two teams down to Central Florida to finish off the season at Walt Disney World Wide World of Sports Complex. Disney has optimal court space for the NBA to use as well as a surplus of hotel rooms for however many teams and their families will be there. Disney also provides a “bubble” feel for the NBA, as they intend to test everyone that will enter this bubble and have strict protocol to prevent the spread of Covid 19. We don’t know specifics yet as for what the season format will look like or scheduling details when the NBA makes their expected arrival in the Disney bubble, but inside sources close to Commissioner Adam Silver have reported a tentative date of July 31st to resume play, obviously pending player, owner and government approval, all of which is expected to pass.

The NHL seems to have a clear cut plan in place as they were the first major league to come out with some heavy details on what to expect. Very similar to the NBA, the NHL is looking for a bubble atmosphere to safely finish off the season. It is believed that Edmonoton, Vancouver, and Las Vegas are three frontrunners amongst twelve contenders to serve as one of two bubble cities to play out the Stanley Cup playoffs. Differing from the NBA, the NHL seems to have a more crystal cut view of what the playoffs will look like. Per NHL.com, “The tournament will begin with a 16-team, eight-series Qualifying Round and a Seeding Round Robin among the top four teams in each conference to determine seeds for the Stanley Cup Playoffs.” That does seem a little fuzzy to interpret, but expect more clarity on that once a date and hub cities are announced for resumption of the season.

Finally, Nascar has resumed action with its racing series, obviously without fans and with proper safety measures. Additionally, the PGA Tour will be back in full swing on June 11th, starting with the annual Charles Schwab Challenge Tourney in Dallas. The PGA Tour will also be making a stop here in Connecticut at the yearly Travelers Championship in late June, just without the presence of fans. Despite that, it is encouraging to see that all of the major sporting leagues have some sort of idea in place to resume/begin their respective seasons in order to move towards some level of normalcy amidst an unprecedented Covid-19 pandemic.



References:

NBA, MLB, NHL, PGA, Nascar

The West End. “Dodger Stadium”. 2009. https://www.flickr.com/photos/69754957@N00/3808064049

Gulitti, Tom. “NHL Plans to Return with 24 Teams Competing for Stanley Cup.” NHL.com, NHL.com, 26 May 2020, www.nhl.com/news/nhl-plans-to-return-with-24-team-stanley-cup-playoffs/c-317031010.




George Floyd's Death represents a much bigger Problem

By Justin Lamoureux

Redcoat Review Writer

Posted June 18, 2020

George Floyd’s death at the hands of a Minneapolis Police Officer has attracted significant attention on social media, with many people - including students at Berlin High School - posting“Black Lives Matter” photos or messages imploring their peers to help combat racial discrimination at the hands of law enforcement.

These messages of inspiration take different forms but convey a monolithic message: It’s not just George Floyd. There is a much bigger problem at hand and has been for many years.

In a town like Berlin, it’s difficult to comprehend that racism continues to be a hot-button issue. After all, only five percent of our town’s population is non-white (according to the 2010 Census), and the average income here is considerably higher than our national average. We know many of our police officers by name, and in several cases, we call them our friends. On a broader scale, though, systemic racism and discrimination both remain a consistent theme - especially among law enforcement.

It happens in cities and neighborhoods across the country: African-Americans being followed, questioned, even accused of crimes - largely because of the color of their skin. According to the accounts of people of color, minor “offenses” - such as driving a few miles above the speed limit, or playing music too loudly - are blown out of proportion. This provides some officers with validation for choosing to escalate the conflict, the consequences of which can be devastating.

According to The Washington Post, in George Floyd’s case, the Minneapolis Police Department was responding to allegations from convenience store employees that he made a purchase using a counterfeit bill. Officers pinned Floyd - who, according to the Washington Post, convenience store employees believed was intoxicated - to the ground after he fell while trying to get into the police vehicle. Camera footage demonstrates that he was not behaving violently towards officers. They held him in a chokehold, applying increased pressure to his neck for an extended period. This caused him to lose consciousness and later suffocate.

Mr. Floyd’s death reflects a much greater societal problem: According to the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), African-Americans are nearly three times more likely to be killed by police than their white counterparts. This disturbing statistic can be attributed to several underlying factors - racial profiling and higher crime rates in predominantly black neighborhoods, for instance - but cannot be overlooked in a nation where “all men are created equal.”

But don’t just focus on the numbers; this is a problem that affects countless families on a personal level. Mothers are watching coverage of George Floyd’s death and praying their child isn’t next. Fathers are showing their teenage sons how to avoid being shot if they are pulled over by a police officer; in many cases, one false move - such as reaching into the glove compartment to grab their license or vehicle registration - can be fatal. Communities are being torn apart by tragic, senseless deaths - family and friends who lost their lives simply because they were black in the wrong place at the wrong time.

This is not a political issue. This is not a condemnation of law enforcement itself. This is a criticism of tactics employed by some police that unfairly target the black community. This is, essentially, a matter of life and death.

It should not matter if you are a Democrat or a Republican. It should not matter if you watch Fox or MSNBC. The circumstances of Mr. Floyd’s death are intolerable, and the behavior demonstrated by the identified officers is morally reprehensible.

Don’t let the progress we have made over the last half-century fool you - there is still discrimination in this country. Regardless of where you stand in society - and whether you have been on the receiving end of such profiling yourself - we all must fight for change.



a revolutionary film: 1917

By Tim Lewis

Redcoat Review Writer

Posted June 3, 2020

The 2019 blockbuster film 1917 is not only a revolutionary film but also a symbol of innovation in the field of cinematography.

The movie encapsulates the physical and emotional struggles of a soldier at war, specifically as a British soldier during World War 1. In 1917, Lance Corporal Schofield (George MacKay) and Lance Corporal Blake (Dean-Charles Chapman) were tasked with a nearly impossible mission: to cross enemy territory and deliver an important message to the commanding officer of another battalion. For many of their fellow soldiers, and Lieutenant Joseph Blake - Corporal Blake's brother, who is unknowingly walking into a surprise attack from the enemy forces - this message could be a saving grace.

Based on the numerous trailers, the audience expects the setting to be set behind enemy lines, but director Sam Mendes does a good job of varying the setting to include a wide array of iconic locations in World War 1. This allows the audience to understand the difference between trench warfare and modern day warfare, while also conveying why soldiers wanted to be out of the trenches for as long as they could.

Much of the anticipation of the movie came from the way it was filmed: being in one continuous shot. With the exception of one cut while lead actor George MacKay - who played Lance Corporal Schofield, and was shot unconscious - the entire movie did not have any cuts. Of course, it is impossible to actually shoot an entire movie without cuts. This is what makes the movie's smooth transitions so impressive.

With a score of 89% on Rotten Tomatoes and an 8.1/10 on IMDb, it is safe to say that this movie enjoyed a positive reception from both movie critics and audiences alike. Part of the success of this unique film was due to Roger Deakins, who is a well known cinematographer. His successes have earned him spots in the British Society of Cinematographers and American Society of Cinematographers.

The deeper meaning of the plot in 1917 is that it represents the duty that all soldiers carry out in order to achieve their mission, regardless of the cost. Certain moments in the plot force the audience to consider what they would do in the soldier’s position.. Not only does this help engulf the audience on a deeper emotional level, but also indulges them to understand the hardships of life as a soldier during World War 1. All things considered, due to the unique nature of the film's cinematography, and its captivating plot, I give it a score of 9/10.

Virtual Spirit week a success

By Nick Spinali

Lead Redcoat Review Writer

Posted June 3, 2020

Despite the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic that is keeping students and staff out of school, the Berlin High School Student Council has found a way for students and staff to continue to show their Berlin pride by hosting the first ever Virtual Spirit Week. The event, which lasted from May 4 to May 8, was a distant version of the traditional Spirit Week held twice annually at Berlin High School, consisting of students and staff dressing in a number of different outfits that correlated with the different days of the week.

“I was definitely surprised at people's willingness to participate at all!” said Mrs. Mayette, a Staff Advisor for the Student Council and a major contributor to the event. “We recognized that sometimes it is hard to feel engaged when you aren't actually in the building, but kids and staff, alike, had their outfits ready and posted away.”

The different themes from the week consisted of Medical Mask Monday, Travel Tuesday, Walt Disney Wednesday, Thank You Thursday, and the iconic Color Wars designed for that Friday. The most photo submissions came on Travel Tuesday, while Medical Mask Monday was a close second. In total, 254 photo submissions were tallied over the course of the week.

All around the community, students and staff have been looking for ways to stay occupied and to show their Berlin High School pride from home. Even though Spirit Week has become a staple in the tradition that takes place at Berlin High School, it was hard to predict the outcome of the online version of the event.

“I think that the reason participating in the virtual Spirit Week showed Berlin High School pride,” Mayette said, “was because it would have been really easy to ignore. Taking the time to figure out what a person was going to wear, taking the photo, finding the GoogleForm to submit it in - those are all conscious tasks connecting us to Berlin High School.”

By taking the time to dress up and to submit a photo response was a unique way for students and staff to show that even out of school, Berlin High School tradition has remained essential for both students and staff members.

The story behind the origination of a virtual-based Spirit Week is unique in of itself.

“I have post-its on my computer, and one of them had ‘Pep Rally - May 22’ on it,” Mayette said when asked how the idea came to fruition. “When we started the Distance Learning process back on March 18, I saw it every day. I kept thinking we needed to do something. When I sent an email to Mr. Recore (who is a Student Council co-advisor) and the officers asking if they thought we should try to do this, the response was overwhelmingly ‘YES.’ Mrs. Eustis loved the idea, and the officers took about a day or two and came up with the five themes.”

Along with Mrs. Mayette and Mr. Recore, student council officers who contributed to the execution of Virtual Spirit Week were President Emily Rutledge, Vice President Makayla Gorski, and Media Secretary Emma Roski.

All around the world, people are hoping that we can achieve some kind of normalcy in the near future, and Virtual Spirit Week was the perfect way for the Berlin High School community to attain that goal.

“I am a firm believer in trying to maintain as much regularity as possible - and especially to find reasons to have some fun,” Mayette noted. “We are in such a serious situation - far from the fun of our traditional Spirit Week and Pep Rally and all of the things that make this time of year so fun - especially for seniors. We obviously couldn't have a Pep Rally, but with technology, we could certainly have our themed-day Spirit Week.”

For the seniors departing Berlin High School in June, Virtual Spirit Week not only helped to maintain a bit of normality, but helped to salvage an event that they have participated in over the last four years.

Despite the fun and the tradition that the online-based Spirit Week provided for its participants, the widespread hope is that students and staff members will soon be back at Berlin High School to show their school spirit.

“After this crazy spring, I hope that everyone really enjoys their time back in school next year,” Mayette continued. “It's a lot of hard work - I totally recognize that - but there are so many things we took for granted... So the main way I hope students and staff display their school pride upon returning to school is making sure we take advantage of all those things - hit a few more games, participate in a couple more club activities, head to the musical or concert, pop in to say hello to one of your teachers/students from this year who you didn't get to say good-bye to. I just hope people realize how lucky we are to be at Berlin High School - it's a pretty great place to be.”

The Newest trend: Good News

By Lindsey Leary

Redcoat Review Writer

Posted May 26, 2020

On nearly every news channel you watch, it is likely that you will see some variation of coronavirus news. Whether it is the latest death toll or people fighting the virus, not much of this news is uplifting.

For these reasons, there has been an increase lately in “good news”- positive news stories that make readers or viewers feel good.

Actor John Krasinski is taking part in the “good news” trend, creating a Youtube Channel titled “Some Good News.” In his weekly show, Krasinski shares the best news he finds worldwide on social media.

Krasinski has shared news about an ICU team forming a conga line to celebrate a COVID-19 patient leaving the hospital, as well as video chatting with a teenage girl who recently went into cancer remission. Another episode of “Some Good News” featured Krasinski surprising healthcare heroes with a trip to Fenway Park to throw the first pitch, as well as lifetime tickets to Red Sox games.

Krasinski recently held a virtual prom through live stream with performances by the Jonas Brothers and Billie Eilish.

On Sunday, May 3rd, “Some Good News” also held a virtual graduation for the Class of 2020, whether that was high schoolers, law students, or eighth graders. The guest lineup included activist Malala Yousafzi, Steven Spielberg and Oprah Winfrey among several others.

In addition, an Instagram page called “Tanks Good News,” created before the virus, has gained significant popularity in recent months. Tank Sinatra runs the page and posts good news stories only. Sinatra is proud that his page posts “news actually worth sharing.”

Sinatra posts a mixture of good news stories, as well as images showcasing people in moments of kindness and goodness. One image shows a woman in a hospital receiving chemotherapy treatment with her family members cheering for her outside the window.

Some recent “Tank’s Good News” posts informed readers about Trevor Noah paying his crew’s salaries out of pocket, and a principal traveling a total of 800 miles to personally congratulate each graduating senior.

Sinatra also posts links to other Instagram pages or websites where viewers can donate to help those in need. Sinatra wrote in one post, “There can be tremendous strength in numbers, but only if we as individuals decide to band together,” to urge others to pitch in with donations for medical masks.

Sinatra also has a website at Tanksgoodnews.com, where he posts his stories for readers to get more information.

All around the world, different people are going through the same difficult times. Everyone has their own hardships, and everyone knows that the coronavirus is devastating.

During these times, good news is few and far between, but it is the best news to hear. These outlets are a way for readers and viewers to experience a few minutes of happiness. Good news is one of the best trends during this time. Hopefully you indulge yourself and visit one of these outlets. It is guaranteed to make you smile.

Together at Home, Separated In the Store

How COVID-19 has affected not only stores, but the family unit

By Jillian Pampuro

Special to the Redcoat Review

Posted May 26, 2020

As Coronavirus tears through countries, it shows us that light can be found even in the darkest of times.

With families stuck at home, many seem to be picking up new hobbies. Notably, there has been an influx of adults and children alike spending more time in the kitchen, whether it be baking for fun, trying to spark a long lost passion for food or trying to refine some cooking skills.

Breads baked by hand, cakes, cookies and sweets flow from the kitchen, and (most importantly) homemade dinners are being created by people of all ages.

The idea of eating dinner together recently became a lost one. Since women became more than stay at home mothers and started entering the workforce, the family unit started to adjust to these new ideas. With kids at school and participating in afterschool activities and both parents hard at work, it became difficult to find time to sit down together.

But with more families now together at meal time, the notion of eating meals as a family is being reinstituted in households across the country.

According to The Sun, a research study commissioned by McCain Foods, in line with the wider Nation’s Conversations report, reported that “44 percent of families are eating more meals together than ever before due to everyone being home. As a result, 36 percent feel closer to their relatives and 32 percent believe they are kinder to one another.”

While the virus has proven to bring old traditions back and families closer than ever, it has quickly proven difficult for grocery stores to keep up with the new rush of people not only cooking their own food but also those cooking for their families.

If you were to take a quick trip to your local grocery store, you would probably notice a lack of meats such as chicken and beef. In some stores, there may even be a lack of pre-made cake mix, unbleached flours, and yeast. With the combination of more American families cooking and individuals stock piling food out of fear, the lack of typically easy-to-access products is causing trouble for not only the stores selling them, but also for restaurants and bakeries that rely on these materials to make a living

According to popular food website Food52, “After reaching out to friends in New Jersey, Connecticut, and Georgia who noticed either a lack of or significantly reduced amounts of these items (the Connecticut store was limiting shoppers to two bags of flour), it’s clear that this is not just affecting New York City bakers… the mere fact that suppliers were even low is unprecedented.”

This is unlike anything America has experienced since the Great Depression. Stockpiling and rationing food are ideas that our generation never thought we would have to experience. Walking into a grocery store and seeing empty shelves of food items and cleaning products is an eerie feeling.

To some extent, the virus should open up the country's eyes to how fortunate we are. That we have bountiful grocery stores at our disposal. That we are able to pick up foods as we please.

While the Coronavirus has brought up many challenges, it's only right that we as a society try and look toward the bright side, whether it be finding gratitude toward a life that we were born into, thanking the grocery store workers who are helping to keep families afloat or making a homemade dinner for your family to enjoy.

Coronavirus is a testament that anything can happen in this world. Appreciate the little things in your life. Tell people you're thankful. Tell people you love them (preferably in the form of an iced cake or a dinner you just made).

A look back

By Jake Holmes

Redcoat Review Writer

Posted May 26, 2020

On March 20, I made my deposit and decided that I would be attending Hamilton College in the fall to receive a tremendous education and continue to play football. A few days or so after that, the coaches sent me a program that would carry into the summer, consisting of lifting and conditioning. I headed over to Sage Park to complete the conditioning part of my workout in the upper grass field. In the middle of one of my sprints, I stopped and just stared at a section of the turf field. Memories began racing through my mind from my four years of playing for the Redcoat football team. That was the first time it “really hit me” that I was leaving the Berlin bubble. I thought this would occur on my senior night, my last play, my last homecoming, yet it happened on a random Tuesday afternoon in April by myself. Berlin High School has groomed me into a person that cares for others, is determined to exceed goals, and learns lessons from experiences.

During my senior season of football, I learned how resilient one can be. In the first game of our season, I witnessed my best friend break his leg right in front of me, my other best friend get his shoulder ripped apart, and an entire roster looking at me for answers. Luckily, I still had my fellow captains, Danny Lynch and Mike Rivera, by my side to help steer the ship, but even after that first game, we were expected to be less than mediocre.

Yet each week, someone new would step up to help deliver a win. It was unheard of for so many talented starters to get hurt and for the team to still clinch a playoff spot. 36-11 in four years. I am blessed to say that I was a Berlin Redcoat. As a senior that played for this team, it hurts knowing that I’ll never put the Berlin uniform on again. Nothing will ever top running out to Sage Park with an entire town behind you and the B on your helmet. Even though it never ended the way we all wanted it to, the bond with coaches and players are ones I’ll have forever. Being a Redcoat football player for four years gave me several different options for the next stage of my life. The community service work, awards, captain recognition, and letters of recommendation got me into colleges that I would not be able to even look at without football.

My junior year, our basketball team won the conference for the first time in over four decades. Our team was loaded, above average at every single position, and was built of mainly seniors. This left me in a situation where I was not playing, so I had a decision to make. Once I got to the varsity level I realized, there are people that are just flat-out better than me. I had to make a decision. I could stay, work hard and be the best teammate I could possibly be. Or I could have quit, yet I knew that there was a chance I would have missed out on something special.

I am pleased I chose the path I did because sitting on the bench and learning not only the game but also specific character traits from people like 2019 Berlin High School grad Ryan Hyde and Basketball Coach Veneziano molded me into a great leader.

My advice to any underclassmen that are reading this is to take advantage of the opportunities here. In addition to the two sports I played, I gained the most beneficial attributes from Unified Theater. I never expected to get so involved and fall in love with Unified Theater like I did. There are endless clubs and sports that you may be interested in and excel at so just go out and do it! You will only benefit from putting yourself out there and taking advantage of the opportunity.

Click here or on the image above for access to the entire Issue 3 newspaper.

About Us

Redcoat Review aims to entertain and inform students on events, activities, and important news of interest among the Berlin High community.